About Indonesia

Indonesia, officially the Republic of Indonesia, is a country in Southeast Asia and Oceania between the Indian and Pacific oceans.


It consists of over seventeen thousand islands, including Sumatra, Java, Sulawesi, and parts of Borneo and New Guinea.

  • ​Area: 1,904,570 km²; 5,160 km from east to west and 1,760 from north to south, almost four times the size of France.

  • Number of islands: the Indonesian archipelago, the largest in the world, has 18,306 islands, of which about 6,000 are uninhabited. Only 2 thirds of these islands have a name!

  • Population: approximately 268,862,000 (2018 estimate).

  • Average age and life expectancy: 30 years and 69 years.

  • Capital: Jakarta (more than 10.5 million inhabitants).

  • Other major cities: Yogyakarta (Java), Surabaya (Java), Medan (Sumatra), Macassar (Sulawesi), Denpasar (Bali)

  • Currency: Indonesian rupiah.

  • GDP: over 1,092 billion euros (2018).

  • Languages: Bahasa Indonesia (official language), close to Malay, over 670 ethnic languages and dialects English is useful.

  • Political system: presidential system. President : Joko Widodo (since 2014).

  • Religions: Indonesia is the 1st Muslim country in the world, with about 87% of the population believing. Sunni Islam is officially the state religion, but republican and religious laws remain separate. There are several Christian, Catholic and Protestant minorities (10% in total). Buddhism (especially Chinese) and animism are still alive. Bali is predominantly Hindu.

  • Ethnic groups: more than 300 ethnic groups.​