Malaysia snapshot cover iso.jpg


About Malaysia

Malaysia is a Southeast Asian country occupying parts of the Malay Peninsula and the island of Borneo. It's known for its beaches, rainforests and mix of Malay,


Chinese, Indian and European cultural influences. The capital, Kuala Lumpur, is home to colonial buildings, busy shopping districts such as Bukit Bintang and skyscrapers such as the iconic, 451m-tall Petronas Twin Towers. 

  • ​Area: 330,803 km² (with Sabah and Sarawak).

  • Capital: Kuala Lumpur.

  • Regime : constitutional federal monarchy (9 hereditary sultanates, 4 non-monarchic states and the federal district of Kuala Lumpur).

  • King: elected every 5 years: Muhamad Faris Petra, Sultan of Kelantan since 2016.

  • Head of government: Muhyiddin Yassin (since March 2020).

  • Population: about 32 million

  • Life expectancy: 72.7 years (for men) and 77.4 years (for women).

  • Human Development Index: 59th (0.789).

  • Religions: Muslim (61.3%; official religion), Buddhist (19.8%), Christian (9.2%), Hindu (6.3%), other (3.4%).

  • Density: 97 inhabitants/km².

  • Currency: ringgit (Rm).

  • Languages: Malay (official language), Chinese (Hokkien dialect and Cantonese), English, Tamil

  • Minimum wage: about Rm 1,000 (about €220); average wage about Rm 3,000 (€666).